Search This Blog

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Set priority for individual programs

If you regularly multi-task while you are working at your computer, but some of the applications you use require more horsepower than others to work effectively (for example using Adobe Photoshop along with Word or other less demanding programs), you may want to consider setting a custom priority for the high-demand applications. Priority is how the operating system determines how to share the processor time among applications. Most applications default to the 'normal' priority, so by setting your high demand application higher, you can increase its performance when multitasking. To do this: Load the program you wish to change the priority for and press CTRL+ALT+DEL to bring up the Task Manager. Select the applications tab and highlight your program. Right click the program and select 'go to process.' Now right click on the highlighted process and choose 'set priority.'
The higher you set the priority above normal, the more CPU time the program will steal from other applications when you are multitasking.

Friday, June 26, 2009

Folder Option is not showing

If in the Tools, causes some virus folder Option is not showing then you can use following steps to recover folder options.

(1). Go to Start > Run and type gpedit.msc and press Enter

(2).In that hierarchical structure in left, navigate to registry entry
User Configuration >Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Explorer

(3).Then in the right panel Double click on
“Removes the Folder Options menu item from the Tools menu”.

(4). Select Disable and click on Apply.

There are some other options to open Folder Options………

Start>----Run>-----> type "Control Folders".

Start Menu > Control Panel > Folder Options.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Folder lock using command prompt

To lock a folder in windows XP without any software. Follow the steps below.

1. Make a Folder in any drive.

2. Now open Command Prompt. Set your Drive and Directory where you make your folder.

3. Type "attrib +s +h C:\ajay" without quotes and press enter.
(Here I make a folder in C Drive and name it a).

4. This command will make your folder invisible.

5. To make it visible again type "attrib -s -h C:\ajay".

You can lock any other folder also by changing the location C:\ajay to address of your folder.

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Assign a Permanent Letter to a USB Drive

If you have multiple pen drives you might have noticed that every time you put in your drive it will be assigned a different drive letter.

This can be create problem if you have created playlist of the songs which are in your pen drive it won’t work if the drive has been letter is changed.So some steps are here which will solve your problem.

Ok let's go for it...............

1. Go to Start > Run and type mmc and press Enter.

2. Then a "Console" window will open. In this window go into File > New

3. Then go into File > Add/Remove Snap-in.

4. Here click on Add and select “Disk Management” and click on “Add”.

5. Then a "Disk Management" Window will open here Select “This computer” and then “Finish”

8. Now click on Cancel in "Add Standalone Snap-in" window and click on “OK” on the “Add/Remove snap-ins” window.

9. Now select “Disk Management” from the left menu.

10.You will now see all of your Drives/Partitions in the right hand side panel.

11.Right click the USB drive you want to assign a permanent letter to and select “Change Drive Letter and Paths…”

12. Click on “Change”

13. Select a Permanent letter

14. Click “OK” then "Yes".

15. It will warn you about making the change - there is little chance programs you use will be affected by this. If they will, you will probably already be aware of this so don’t worry.

16. The final step is go to File > Save and save the file in the default directory. Close the Console.

Now eject your usb drive and put it back in. It will show you every time same drive letter which you assign.

There ia also some different step...........they are following

(1). Right click on My Computer > Manage.

(2). Then a "Computer Management" window will open here in left panel select Disk Management.

(3). Then follow above steps from 10th step.